i’ve gone travelling…. hi.

I might write about my adventures here…

5 seconds from disaster February 18, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — lukeo @ 10:55 am

so, to cut a long story short, i ended up with no money. or more precisely, minus 800 pounds or so was showing on my bank account, after i lost my cards/had them swiped by some thrifty bugger. this… wasn’t good. it could have been worse though. for one, i had just met ryan the day before, and though we were both booked on buses going 12 hours north and south respectively, he was able to lend me enough money to call my dad and use the internet. i was also able to cancel my bus which gave me 300 baht back which just about paid for a room (though i had to use my camera as a deposit!).

i almost could have ended up with no clothes, which would have been hilariously awesome, because i had put them all into be washed, but had not paid.. so if it wasn’t for ryans few hundred baht i wouldn’t have been able to pay to get my clothes back… now that would have been an awesome story, but sadly it didn’t occur.

anyway, at this point in the story i have a room booked for 1 night, and about 100 baht spare (thats about 1.40 in gbp.). i also have one credit card that i kept safe.. but i neither no the pin, and the people at the money changing booths are refusing to accept it without my passport (which had been sent off to the burmese embassy to get a visa). anyway, Mr. Thai, my travel agent promises me to get my passport back to me tomorrow (today) and i end up waiting around for 4 hours after checking out of my hotel, with enough money to pay for a bottle of water and a plate of pad thai, hoping that my passport will come and i can withdraw enough money to keep me alive.

my passport arrives. hooray. so i wander down to the money changer, who has been hating me nonstop as i keep going up trying to get him to change my scraps of aussie shrapnel and my indonesian notes which though are worth 9000 rupiah, are only worth 50p. he doesn’t like me. when i show him my passport he scrutinizes it for about 5 minutes, comparing my name and photo and signiture over and oiver again. at last when he is sure everything is right he swipes the card, and announces that it doesn’t work and i will never be able to get any money out.

thats it… all my options are done. basically, i am well and truly screwed. my only hope now is to be able to sell enough of my books and clothes to pay for a phone call to qantas to change my flight to right now, and be able to get a bus to the airport and pay the depature fee. i amble sadly up to mr. thai to tell him of my woes, and he announces he has a credit card machine, tests my card, asks how much i want, and happily hands over 20,000 baht with a smile and a (proverbial) slap on the ass. suddenly everything is sorted. he even has space on the bus to chiang mai in an hours time, so i can head off there with my vast reserves of cash and hope not to loose it.

though there are still several obsticles to get over right now.. such as hoping i can get my bank balance back from minus 800 pounds to something more respectable, and trying to get a debit card posted to bangkok so i can pick it up, everything is fun, and i will go to chiang mai and try and enjoy the slightly cooler nights… though knowing my luck i will just end up with malaria. … i should really remember to take my pills…. oh well.

anyway, i have now spent 4 nights in bangkok, doing nothing but sitting on the floor outside mr. thais and making friends with every tailor who comes along. for someone who wanted to get out of there as quick as possible, i have been here too long. lets hope i can manage to get north without a hiccup. yeah right. heard those stories of long haul buses being gased and the thais coming on and stealing everything you own thats valuable while your unconcious… thats gonna be me in 6 hours. ha. … fun….

nice to know you all. cya xxx

 

Leave a Reply

